Sign In or Register

Can't register? Contact us.

Orchestral Tools Berlin Strings [27 Dvd]

$375.00 $179.95

Orchestral Tools Berlin Strings [27 DVD]


  • First True Adaptive Legato (including 4 legato types: Slurred, Agile (scripted), Fast Runs and Portamento)
  • Up to 24x RR Spiccatos
  • Extensive collection of different short notes
  • Playable Runs and pre-recorded octave runs (tempo synced)
  • Smaller Sections for more definition and detail
  • 4 Mic Positions + Concert Master Mic (Violins I only)
  • Bow Stroke Control (soft, immediate, accented)
  • Up to 3 different vibrato expressions
  • Ostinato Arp Legato (fast leg 6RR and slow leg 3RRs true legato)


Tech Specs

  • 121 GB of samples in NCW format (254 GB uncompressed)
  • 24 Bit / 48KHz Patches
  • Works with the free Kontakt Player 5.3+ or Kontakt 5.3+

Adaptive Legato Engine

Berlin Strings features an innovative new legato system which analyzes your performance to choose between four different types of legato:

  • Slurred expressive legato
  • Agile, fast legato (scripted)
  • fast runs legato
  • portamento


With velocity you have control over different captured bow stroke intensities (soft attack, immediate attack, accented attack). With the sustain pedal you can add a soft decay to end a phrase. These release samples have been specifically recorded.

Additionally, the faster you play the more blurred the intonation will turn out - like in a real string performance. These blurred intonation effects will be created by specifically sampled articulations.

Via a CC of your choice you can switch between different vibrato expressions.

Please view our screencast "CHAPTER II: Legato" to get further information.

Sections and their Sizes

For Berlin Strings we decided to choose smaller section sizes to keep the definition and vibrato details in the sampled patches.
Several crossfading techniques (dynamic layers, legatos fade scripts, vibrato fading) or playing more than one voice leads to a bigger and pad-like undefined string sound. With smaller sections we´re trying to take this effect into calculation to end up with a detailed, expressive orchestral string section.

Berlin Strings includes the following sections:

  • 1st Violins (8 players)
  • 2nd Violins (6 players)
  • Violas (5 players)
  • Celli (5 players)
  • Basses (4 players)


Bow Noise & Blurred Artics

Bow Noise
Add natural cc controllable bow noise for additional expressiveness.

New: Blurred Articulations
We recorded special untuned and blurred articulations, which you can blend as a sonic color to change the impression of the intonation in a phrase.

String Runs
Berlin Strings will offer playable runs patches, as well as pre-recorded octave runs, which adapt automatically to your host tempo.

The Room

Our vision is a full, very extensively sampled orchestra at Teldex. After Berlin Woodwinds, which became one of the most professionally used woodwind sample libraries in the world, Berlin Strings is our next step towards realizing this vision.

The library was recorded in one of the best sounding scoring stages in Europe with a fantastic complement of legendary microphones catapulting Berlin Strings on a new level of orchestral string sampling.

The large recording stage at Teldex looks back on a long tradition of many well-known and Grammy® award-winning recordings. Famous orchestras, like the Berlin Philharmonics and great film composers from the USA and Europe trust and love the wide and clear acoustics of this room.

For more information, please visit this products webpage.
You may buy Orchestral Tools Berlin Strings [27 DVD] or download it on our site. This product was added to our catalog on Monday 30 June, 2014.


  • Reviews (2)
  • Write a Review

Rating: ★★★★★

With the release of Berlin Strings, the question of which strings collection to buy just became a little more complex. Given the different needs of users, it's impossible for anyone to provide a definitive, one‑size‑fits‑all answer, but I can say that due to its great sound, musical consistency, excellent, heartfelt and tight performances, huge dynamic range, swift responsiveness to touch and comprehensive articulation menu, it's a cast‑iron certainty that I'll be using this library in future. And despite the hefty price tag, it's a pretty safe bet that many orchestral sample users will be joining me in droves.

Rating: ★★★★★

Looking at all the patches and articulations can be an overwhelming experience as there are so many of them. However, when you get to know the library it all starts to make sense and you are left with a very powerful tool. What is normally the problem for me when starting out with a new string library is to figure out how to make the legato work. Well, the legato here works really, really well and all the other patches are equally easy to work with.

The one thing in my opinion which would have made it even easier was to have keyswitching in the short articulations. This however is a small issue to have. Another thing which really impressed me was the flexibility of the library in terms of reverb. Even though it is naturally wet it can be relatively easy reigned in and used in a more intimate way.

Your Review:
NOTE: HTML is not translated!

We Also Recommend